Flowers & Clouds

clouds
So after having painted the flowers, I went out with my camera to take pictures of clouds. I photoshopped different ones together to make this picture, and then decided to paint it on its own canvas (18″ x 24″) instead of behind the flowers.
_________________________________

flowers

I hadn’t painted flowers in a long time, so I asked my wife to go and pick up a variety of them for me to paint.

She came back with far more than I needed (and several vases.) I don’t know anything about the art of flower arranging, so I just tried to make a pleasing composition. I set them up outside, in the morning so that the light would hit them from the side. I put a piece of FoamCor (a kind of illustration board) behind them to block out the background.

Now that I look at it, I think the blankness is a little strange. Maybe I should paint in some trees or clouds or something. I don’t know. This canvas is 36″ x 24″.

 

2 responses to “Flowers & Clouds

  1. Can I purchase a print of Putin on Trump?

    • No, I can’t sell that. I used artwork by sculptor Liu Xue as a basis for that photoshop piece, so it wouldn’t be right for me to sell that image. It was meant for satirical purposes, not commercial ones.

Leave a Reply

